9 steps of Vipassana: The Chapter 21 of the Visuddhimagga

22/01/2010 17:01


Here you will find a short summary of Chapter 21 (Purification by Knowledge and Vision of the Way) of the Visuddhimagga

In this chapter are exposed 9 knowledges or 9 steps in which vipassana is developped.


1. Knowledge of Contemplation of Rise and Fall (Udaya-bbaya)

In this first stage, the yogi makes efforts of concentration in order to be able to contemplate the arising and cessation of formations, as they appear in the present (and not in the three times, as he did before, when in a phase of general reflexion).


2. Knowledge of dissolution (Bhanga)

I n this second stage, the yogi focuses only on the cessation, the dissolution, the desintegration of the formations.


3. Knowledge of Appearance as Fear (Bhaya)

Such formations, contemplated in all realms of existence, as being subject to destruction, are understood as being to be feared.


4. Knowledge of Contemplation of Danger (Adinava)

The yogi then sees the formations as danger, seeing no security or refuge in them.


5. Knowledge of Contemplation of Disenchantment (Nibbida)

He becomes disenchanted with the formations.


6. Knowledge of Desire for Delivrance (Muñcitu)

The desire to be delivered from the whole field of formations becomes stronger than before.


7. Knowledge of Contemplation of Reflexion (Patisankha)

Through this desire, the yogi is inclined to consider over and over again the three general characteristics of formations: impermanence, suffering, and non-self.


8. Knowledge of Equanimity about formations: Sankhar'upekha

Seeing no Self in the formations, the yogi sees also nothing pertaining to a Self. Seeing no self or any thing pertaining to a self is called Emptiness. : the yogi abandons even fear and remains in Equanimity.


9. Anuloma

Knowledge of conformity is the mature phase of knowledge of equanimity. After the knowledge of conformity comes the change-of-lineage (gotrabhû), by which the yogi becomes a noble one, an ariya.